Type(Paragraph): Process 2

This time I had a better idea of what to do, at least I had some sort of intension when I was placing my paragraph on the page. At first I was trying different placements without breaking up the paragraph, then I started breaking up my paragraph in different ways and getting all the bad (and some nice) ideas out.

It wasn’t as boring as the first time I did this with the sentence since ideas of how to break the paragraph was coming to me easily, even though I didn’t know if what I’m doing is right or wrong but having some background knowledge from the sentence project was helpful.

 

screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-7-06-28-pm
i thought separating the first sentence would look nice, making it look like it was coming in the paragraph kind of like what it said in the paragraph.
screen-shot-2016-11-17-at-5-21-20-pm
I kerned some of the words that needed kerning for the composition i liked.
screen-shot-2016-11-15-at-6-38-37-pm
i forgot why i screen shot this. but i think i wanted to try the drop caps thing but i didn’t like how it looked.

Critique:

I was criticized badly about this one but I’m not complaining because I knew it was horrible while I was making it but wanted to get this out, it was with my ‘bad’ ones.

screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-6-41-38-pm

Things learned from this bad mistake:

  • It was hard to read.
  • The line measure was tooooo long which confuses the reader.
  • It’s hard to figure out were to start reading.
  • Making it in a diagonal makes it impossible to read.
screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-6-42-39-pm
For this one, making the word sticking out bolder or scaling it up might look better.
screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-6-43-23-pm
I need to work on the rag for this one, because during critique we were asked to work more on the rags and not use justify because it creates rivers…
screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-6-43-46-pm
This was one of my good ones so I decided to play more with it. I made the first sentence slightly bigger in size here.

 

screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-6-44-12-pm
Here I chose the type family  ‘ultra light extended oblique’, it looked nice on screen but I’m still experimenting with this one. I’ll have to print out and see.

 

 

Leave a Reply

